Alumni News

March 2, 2017 at 8:00 am

2015-16 Physics and Astronomy Student News

Sean McGraw

Sean McGraw

Physics & Astronomy 2015-16 Student News

Sean McGraw won first place in Ohio University’s inaugural 3-Minute-Thesis (3MT) competition, hosted by Graduate College. His presentation title was “Black Holes: Little Engines that Control the Evolution of Galaxies.”

Andrea Richard received the Science Graduate Student Research Award from the Department of Energy (DOE) Office of Science.  This prestigious national award will support a three-month stay at the Lawrence Berkeley National Lab, where she will do research in nuclear physics.

J. Connor Burgad was awarded Outstanding Teaching Assistant by the College of Arts & Sciences.

Sneha Pandya was awarded an Original Work Grant (OWG) from the Graduate Student Senate for summer 2015.

Graduate student Kiran Prasai received the Vishwa S. Shulka Memorial Scholarship and also the Donald Clippinger Graduate Fellowship. The latter includes a $15,000 stipend plus a full tuition scholarship.  Kiran is being advised by Distinguished Professor David Drabold.

Recipients of awards at Ohio University’s Research & Creativity Fair were graduate students Thushan Wickramasinghe, Mayur Sundarajan, Sudiksha Khadka, Oscar Avalos Ovando, Sean Krupa and Rekam Giri.

Maxwell Camp received an award for Best Presentation at the 2016 Undergraduate Research Conference, organized by the local chapter of the Society of Physics Students. Honorable Mention was awarded to Sara Sand and Andrew Dewald for their research presentations.

Jacob Williamson, Robert Radloff, and David Ingram

Jacob Williamson, Robert Radloff, and David Ingram

Robert Radloff and Jacob Williamson were inducted into Sigma Pi Sigma, the honor society for the Society of Physics Students.

View the complete 2015-16 newsletter as a pdf.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *