April 25, 2018 at 8:32 pm

History Announces 2017-18 Scholarships, Grants, and Essay Competition Winners

College of Arts & Sciences Department of History artwork with civil war cannon

The History Department announces the 2017-18 winners of the department’s scholarship, research grant, and essay competitions.

While many of these awards are designated for History majors, several of them are available to all OHIO undergraduate students. The department offers an array of annual scholarships and grants that range in amount from $500 to $7,500, all of which are awarded on the basis of competitive applications.


The following students received scholarships:

  • Bryan Allwine received the Frederick H. Boston Scholarship
  • Andrew Bovenzi received the Anthony Holland Churchville Memorial Scholarship
  • Madeline Nielsen received the Carl Gustavson Scholarship
  • Falklyn Roth received the Jean Finsterwald Sprague Scholarship
  • Julia Schneider received Arthur J. and Kathleen A. Marinelli Scholarship
  • Luke Skinner received the Wilmer C. Harris Scholarship
  • Lauren Smith received the Elizabeth Grover Beatty Scholarship
  • Gabrielle Tharp received the Roger and Katherine Feinthel Scholarship
  • Jordan Thompson received the John and Alexander Preston Scholarship
  • Eli Wanner received the Frederick H. Boston Scholarship

Philip Bebb Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship was created to help enable undergraduate history majors to study in Italy. It is made possible through donations offered in memory of Dr. Philip Bebb, long-time professor of Renaissance/Reformation history at Ohio University, who had a deep scholarly and personal affection for Italy.

This academic year, the department awarded Bebb scholarships to Andrew Bovenzi, Precious Oluwasanya, and Kristen Osborne. Two of these students used their scholarship towards participating in HIST 4536 Eternal Rome: Power and Piety, which features a study-trip to Rome over the spring break. The third fellowship enables a student to participate in this summer’s Italian Language in Florence program.

Boston and Harvey Research Fellowships

The Boston Fellowship seeks to promote educational opportunities for History majors from underrepresented areas in Ohio. The fellowship funds research, conference travel, and other skills training opportunities. It is made possible by a very generous, posthumous donation of Frederick H Boston. The Harvey Fellowship supports undergraduate research and academic related activities. It is made possible through a generous endowment by Ohio University Professor Emeritus of History Richard Harveyand his wife, Karen.

This year, the department awarded research fellowships to Rhys Jones, Precious Oluwasanya, and Kristen Osborne.

Randolph Stone Essay Competition Winners

This competition is meant to recognize the best undergraduate term papers on historical topics and is open to all OHIO students. The competition features two categories: short essay and long (research) essay.

Short Essay Category:

  • Francisco Cintron for his essay, “The Imperial Cult and the Christian Roman Empire” (Written for Dr. Jackie Maxwell’s HIST 4536)

Long Essay Category:

  • Meghan McDaniel for her essay, “Confederate Nurses: Strength, Sacrifice, and Gender” (Written for Dr. Alex Holcombe’s HIST 3111J)
  • Precious Oluwasanya for her essay, “Peace of the Gods: Octavian Caesar and the Political Power of Religion in Ancient Rome” (Written for Dr. Kevin Uhalde’s HIST 3111J)

Eckes Prize for Outstanding Graduating Senior

The Eckes Prize in History is a cash prize of $5000, awarded to the graduating senior History major with the highest overall GPA. It was established by Emeritus Professor Al Eckes to recognize superior academic achievement among history majors.

The 2018 Eckes Prize recipient is Michael Gerber.

About the History Department

The History Department features a diverse array of programs, course offerings, and faculty research areas, as well as a number of scholarship and grant opportunities. For more on the History Department, visit the department website or contact Dr. Michele Clouse, Director of Undergraduate Studies at the History Department.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *