October 23, 2017 at 2:56 pm

13 Political Science Faculty Recognized as Newsmakers

Thirteen faculty members from the Political Science Department were recognized at the third annual OHIO Faculty Newsmakers Gala. Seven members of the department received Keystroke Catalyst Awards for contributions to media reports connected to the Associated Press’ “Top 10 Stories of 2016.”

Ohio University community members came together on October 12 to recognize faculty who have maintained prominence in both U.S. and international media. Special recognition awards were presented to OHIO faculty newsmakers by President M. Duane Nellis and Interim Executive Vice President and Provost David Descutner. This year’s Newsmakers Gala the largest to date, marking a significant achievement for the university and its faculty.

Seven Political Science faculty received Keystroke Catalyst Awards for contributions to AP’s top stories from the past year. Drs. Susan Burgess, DeLysa Burnier, Michael Burton, Maria Fanis, and Sarah Poggione were all featured in news reports relating to the U.S. presidential election in 2016. In addition, Drs. Jennifer Fredette and Brandon Kendhammer were features in news presorts relating to worldwide terrorist attacks. Dr. Nicholas Kiersey from the Chillicothe campus was recognized among the ten Ohio University faculty with the highest number of media placements over the year. Kiersey was quoted in a widely syndicated AP article “Measuring Occupy Wall Street’s Impact, 5 Years Later.”

Five other Athens campus political scientists were recognized as newsmakers: Drs. Lauren Elliot-Dorans, Judith Grant, Matthew Layton, Nukhet Sandal, and Julie White. Also recognized was Dr. Jayum Jawan, who was Tun Abdul Razak Chair during 2015-16 and held a joint-appointment in Political Science.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *