September 26, 2018 at 3:26 pm

Seven Political Science Faculty Honored at Newsmakers Gala

Dr. Sara Poggione and President M. Duane Nellis at the OHIO Newsmakers Gala, holding the keystroke award.

Dr. Sara Poggione and President M. Duane Nellis at the OHIO Newsmakers Gala.

Ohio University recognized faculty whose research and expertise was featured in news media stories at the Faculty Newsmakers Gala on Sept. 20.  Seven Political Science Department professors were honored among the 378 Ohio University faculty newsmakers who contributed to news coverage from over 1,000 different media outlets including the Wall Street Journal, the New York Times, and the BBC.

Congratulations to Dr. Susan Burgess, Dr. Judith Grant, Dr. Brandon Kendhammer, Dr. Nancy Manring, Dr. Sarah Poggione, Dr. Barry Tadlock, and Dr. Julie White.

Four professors in the OHIO Political Science Department were among the 36 faculty honored with the Keystroke Catalyst award for being quoted in news stories related to the Associated Press’ top 10 stories of 2017. Burgess, Distinguished Professor of Political Science, was quoted in a story on President Donald Trump’s use of Twitter. Kendhammer, Director of the International Development Studies Program and Political Science Associate Professor, spoke on the Trump administration’s travel ban. Poggione, Professor and Chair of Political Science, was interviewed for a story on the Republican tax plans and the impact on graduate students. Tadlock co-wrote an op-ed in the Washington Post noting that President Trump proposed ban of transgender people in the military was not in line with public opinion nationally or in the states.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *