June 28, 2016 at 3:00 pm

Geography Awards and Recognition, 2015-16

The Geography Department presented its awards and recognition for 2015-16 at Geofest.

The American Meteorological Society awarded OU-CAMS the 2016 Award for Outstanding Student Chapter of the Year, “for its commitment to community service, including hosting an annual symposium open to the public, support of StormFest, and outreach to local elementary schools.” Congratulations to Ohio University’s Meteorology Club!

Congratulations to senior Meteorology major Kelsey Britt, recipient of a Named Scholarship (Richard and Helen Hagemeyer) from the American Meteorological Society. Great job Kelsey!

The Isaac Sindiga Memorial Fund for Geography

  • Angela Chapman, “The Neoliberal Economy of Food?: Local Food and Food Security in Athens County, Ohio.”

Departmental Awards

Awarded at Geofest, April 2016.

The Olive Emler Ross Scholarship in Geography

  • Kate Blyth, Environmental Geography
  • Paul Reed, Environmental Geography
  • Brendan Rossi, Environmental Geography
  • Ananda Harris, Geography-Meteorology
  • Jordyn Henderson, Environmental Geography
  • Jeremy Crookston, Geography-Meteorology

The Regina L. Bloemer Scholarship in Geography

  • Jessica Schaudt, Geographic Information Science (GISc)

The Bloemer Geography Scholarship

  • Gracie Keyes, Geography

The Hubert and Constance Wilhelm Geography Scholarship

  • Jacob Pullar, Geography-Environmental Pre-law

Outstanding Graduating Seniors

  • Christy Wiseman, Environmental Geography
  • Kelsey Britt, Geography-Meteorology
  • Clayton Hamre, Geographic Information Science (GISc)
  • Eli Hiller, Environmental Geography
  • Megan Jones, Geography-Meteorology
  • Ali Al Jabri, Geography-Meteorology
  • Ibrahim Al-Khatri, Geography-Meteorology
  • Michael Outrich, Geographic Information Science (GISc)

Outstanding Teaching Assistant (Geography)

  • Emily Hill, Masters

Outstanding Teaching Assistant (A&S)

  • Megan Sympson, Master’s

Outstanding Undergraduate Scalia Scholar

  • Megan Jones, Geography-Meteorology

David Keirns Public Service Award in Meteorology

  • James Sullivan, Geography-Meteorology

Outstanding Graduate Scalia Scholar

  • Nate McGinnis, Master’s

Outstanding Graduate Scholar

  • Ethan Bottone, Master’s

The Joe Ferguson Scholarship

  • Sierra Faris, Environmental Geography

The Elizabeth Llewellyn Robe Scholarship

  • Tiffiny Cooper, Geography

Study Away Scholarship

  • Anjelica Moreno, Geography-Meteorology (Waterton-Glacier International Peace Park)
  • Tess Hickey, Environmental Geography (The Balkans)

Student Expo Poster Winners

  • Steven Richardson, Drew Arnold, and Paul Reed (1st place, graduate), “Impacts of Acid Mine Drainage as observed from Unmanned Aerial Vehicles.”
  • Hannah Driscoll (1st place, undergraduate), “Nesting Success of Hooded Warblers: The Influence of Foraging Territories.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *