May 24, 2021 at 2:49 pm

Stigall Chosen for MAC’s Academic Leadership Development Program

selfie of Alycia Stigall with the OsloFjord in the background

Dr. Stigall with ordovician rocks, containing brachiopods, at the Oslo Fjord, Norway

From Ohio University News

Dr. Alycia Stigall is one of four Ohio University faculty members chosen as the 2021-22 Mid-American Conference Academic Leadership Development Program Fellows.

Stigall is Professor and Chair of Geological Sciences in the College of Arts & Sciences at OHIO.

The other three faculty members are: Mick Andzulis, associate professor and chair of the marketing department in the College of Business; Char Miller, associate professor of nursing in the College of Health Sciences and Professions; and Dwan Robinson, associate professor and department chair of educational studies in the Patton College of Education.

“This is an outstanding group of faculty members from a diverse range of disciplines that will represent Ohio University well,” Associate Provost for Faculty and Academic Planning Howard Dewald said. “This program will give them the opportunity to explore academic leadership and their own goals for future positions.”

The MAC-ALDP identifies, develops, prepares and advances faculty as academic leaders. It provides an opportunity for four OHIO faculty to gain knowledge and experience in academic leadership by working closely with select administrators at OHIO and from other universities in the MAC.

Each fellow will participate in an on-campus program and during the fall semester monthly virtual webinars on a variety of leadership topics hosted/presented by the MAC and conference universities. If possible, an in-person workshop is planned for spring 2022 in Cleveland.

This is the fifth group of fellows OHIO has included in the program. Faculty who participated in previous years include Christopher Hayes, Sara Helfrich and Beth Quitslund in 2017-2018, Ana Rosado Feger, Tania Basta and Patrick Barr-Melej in 2018-2019, Todd Eisworth, Akil Houston, Natalie Kruse-Daniels and Nukhet Sandal in 2019-2020, and Cynthia Anderson, Lisa Harrison, Jason Trembly and Morgan Vis in 2020-2021.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *