April 24, 2020 at 1:20 pm

Four Geography Students Awarded Scholarships Honoring Bloemers

Three students were awarded scholarships honoring the late Dr. Hugh Bloemer and his family by the Geography Department at Ohio University.

Elle Dickerman, portrait

Elle Dickerman

Elle Dickerman, an Honors Tutorial College student, was awarded the Bloemer Geography Scholarship.

Sean Hollowell, portrait

Sean Hollowell

Sean Hollowell was awarded the Bloemer Geography Scholarship. He is a junior majoring in Environmental Studies and Geography in the Honors Tutorial College.

Jenn Rubal, portrait

Jenn Rubal

Jenn Rubal was awarded the Hugh Bloemer Memorial Scholarship. She is majoring in Urban Planning & Sustainability.

Nathan Kuhr, potrait

Nathan Kuhr

Nathan Kuhr, who is majoring in Geography in the Honors Tutorial College, was awarded the Regina L. Bloemer Scholarship.

About the Bloemer Geography Scholarship

The Bloemer Geography Scholarship was established with money donated by the late Emeritus professor, Dr. Hubert “Hugh” Bloemer. He joined the faculty of the Geography Department in 1971; he retired in 2009. During his tenure at Ohio University, he served as director of the University Cartographic Center. He was chair of the department from 1993-98 and chair of the Faculty Senate from 2001-04. In 1985 he was named a University Professor for excellence in teaching. He established this scholarship to provide a significant portion of each recipient’s tuition.

The recipient of this scholarship must have a minimum GPA of 3.5 and have at least 30 attempted hours. The recipient may be a sophomore, junior, or senior. GPA is a significant criterion for this award, but the recipient must demonstrate “outstanding interest and aptitude in the study of Geography, as well as potential for future achievement in the field.”

About the Hugh Bloemer Memorial Scholarship Fund

Funds will be awarded to Geography students majoring in geographic techniques (cartography, GIS, remote sensing).

About the Regina L. Bloemer Scholarship in Geography

The Regina L. Bloemer scholarship was established by the late Hugh Bloemer in honor of his mother (1907-1988) — “a true geographer without formal geographic training.” When Regina Bloemer passed away, Bloemer and his siblings contributed money to endow a scholarship in her name.

The recipient (or recipients) must have a minimum GPA of 3.3. The scholarship is typically awarded to a high-achieving student in the geo-techniques.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *