November 1, 2019 at 7:00 pm

Celebrate Faculty Research, Teaching Award Recipients, Nov. 21

From Ohio University News

The Ohio University community is invited to celebrate the 2019 recipients of the Presidential Research Scholars, Presidential Teacher Award and Provost’s Award for Excellence in Teaching at a special recognition event on Thursday, Nov. 21, at 2:30 p.m. in the Baker University Center Ballroom.

The event, sponsored by the Executive Vice President and Provost and Research Division, will feature an awards ceremony and reception that will begin at 1:30 p.m. Faculty, staff, students and community members are invited.

Seven faculty members have been named 2019 Ohio University Presidential Research Scholars for excellence in arts and humanities, social and behavioral sciences, and physical sciences and engineering research. The recipients are:

  • Christopher Fisher, professor of music in the College of Fine Arts.
  • Katarzyna Marciniak, professor of English in the College of Arts and Sciences, affiliated with the College of Fine Arts.
  • Michael Geringer, O’Bleness Professor of International Strategy in the College of Business.
  • Kimberly Rios, associate professor of psychology in the College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Jeff Vancouver, William C. Byham Chair in Industrial/Organizational Psychology in the College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Carl Brune, professor of physics and astronomy in the College of Arts and Sciences.
  • Peter Harrington, professor of chemistry and biochemistry in the College of Arts and Sciences.

The awards program recognizes mid-career faculty members who have garnered national and international prominence in research, scholarship and creative activity.  Each award recipient will receive $3,000 to be used at the scholar’s discretion as an honorarium or to support research or creative works.

Two faculty members were selected for the 2019-2022 Presidential Teacher Award, which is presented to full-time, tenure-track faculty members. The recipients are:

  • Sinan Gokkaya, JPMorgan Chase associate professor of finance in the College of Business.
  • Tony Vinci, associate professor of English at the Ohio University Chillicothe campus.

The Provost Award for Excellence in Teaching, which is presented to full-time, non-tenure track faculty members, recognizes for 2019-2022:

  • Lauren Elliot-Dorans, assistant professor of instruction in political science in the College of Arts and Sciences (award recipient)
  • Josh Antonuccio, associate professor of instruction in media arts and studies in the Scripps College of Communication (finalist)

Selection for both teaching awards is based on excellence in teaching and meritorious academic pursuits both inside and outside the classroom, as acknowledged by peers and students, including teaching practices and innovations, influences on curriculum, student mentoring, colleague mentoring and scholarship with respect to teaching.

Teaching award winners hold the title of Presidential Teacher or Provost Teacher for three years and receive $1,000 each year. The selection committees for both awards review teaching portfolios, visit classrooms and conduct interviews with both finalists and their chairs, directors or division coordinators.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *