August 28, 2018 at 2:38 pm

Hicks Elected Secretary-Treasurer of Division of Nuclear Physics of the American Physical Society

Dr. Kenneth Hicks, portrait

Dr. Kenneth Hicks

Dr. Kenneth Hicks, Professor of Physics & Astronomy at Ohio University, was elected in 2018 to be the Secretary-Treasurer for the Division of Nuclear Physics of the American Physical Society.

The DNP is the national society for his area of physics, with about 2,700 members.

The Secretary-Treasurer is part of the Executive Committee, with responsibilities such as organizing the annual national meeting.

“The Division of Nuclear Physics (DNP), established in 1966, is comprised of scientists and educators who study fundamental problems related to the nature of matter. Nuclear scientists probe the properties of nuclei and nuclear matter and the interactions of their ultimate constituents — quarks and gluons. They also address interdisciplinary questions: the basis of fundamental symmetries in nature, the first moments of the universe, the origin of the elements, education, and the application of nuclei and nuclear techniques to meet societal needs including medical diagnoses and treatment, energy, advanced materials, and Homeland Security. DNP interests have significant overlap with other APS Divisions, Topical Groups and Forums,” says the DNP website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.