May 3, 2016 at 11:28 am

History Wraps Up 2015-16 with Successful Job Placements, Student Awards

History's Dr. Miriam Shadis and Dr. Mariana Dantas, with graduating senior Michael Lynch

History’s Dr. Miriam Shadis and Dr. Mariana Dantas, with graduating senior Michael Lynch

The History Department at Ohio University recently marked the end of the 2015-16 academic year by recognizing the academic accomplishments of undergraduate majors and the graduating class of history majors.

On Friday, April 29, 2016, the History Department convened its annual reception for graduating undergraduate seniors. The department chair, Dr. Katherine Jellison, recognized and congratulated the class of 41 graduating seniors, including two students from the Honors Tutorial College.

History majors go on to pursue a wide range of academic and professional trajectories after graduation. A few highlights from this year’s graduating class include:

  • Hannah Caldwell will attend law school at Case Western Reserve University in Cleveland.
  • Katie Conlon will start an M.A. program at the Institute for the Study of Conflict Transformation and Social Justice, Queens University in Belfast.
  • Joey Fisher will start an M.A. program in Teaching at Muskingum University in New Concord, OH.
  • Nolan Gilbert will intern with the Office of the 12th Congressional District of New Jersey in Washington, D.C.
  • Mary Holben will begin her position as high school history teacher in Columbus.
  • Michael Lynch will start the M.A. program in Latin American Studies at Ohio University.
  • Torie McCollum will start an M.A. program in Historic Preservations at the College of Charleston.
  • Tanner Ogle will start an M.A. program in the History Department at the University of Akron.
  • James Roy will work as an English teacher in Italy.
  • Andrew Sanders will enlist in the U.S. military.

Two weeks earlier, at the opening night of the 10th Annual Undergraduate History Conference (April 14-15), the department recognized the following recipients of departmental awards and grants:

  • For the Wilmer C. Harris Scholarship (merit-based partial tuition scholarship): Francisco Cintron, Mihcael Gerber, Sierra Goings, Michael Mangan, Bryan Stringer, and Precious Oluwasanya.
  • For the Anthony H. Churchill Scholarship (for academic excellence and broader engagement in student life): Fransciso Cintron.
  • For the Carl G. Gustavson Scholarship (for undergraduate majors with a primary interest in European/Russian history): Madeline Neilson.
  • For the Elizabeth Beaty Scholarship (merit-based partial tuition scholarship): Michael Gerber.
  • For the Arthur and Kathleen Marinelli Scholarship (merit-based partial tuition scholarship): Elliot Smith.
  • For the Jean F. Sprague Scholarship (merit-based partial tuition scholarship for juniors/seniors): Heather Sabruno.
  • For the John and Alexander Preston Scholarship (merit-based partial tuition scholarship): Grace Konyar
  • For the Harvey Research Fellowship (to support undergraduate research projects): Katie Conlon & Grace Konyar.
  • For the Frederick H. Boston Scholarship: Tanner Ogle, Michael Gerber, and Grace Konyar.
  • For the Philip Bebb Memorial Scholarship (to support undergraduate majors studying in Italy): Sierra Goings, Emily Irvin, Heather Sabruno, and Andrew Sanders.
  • For the Randolph Stone Historical Writing Award (for excellence in the writing of history): Grace Konyar and Jason Koberg (for category of short essays of 5-10 pages) and Michael Gerber and Eric Backenmeyer (for category of research papers of 12-20 pages).

The department also recognized this year’s class of inductees into Phi Alpha Thera, the National History Honors Society: Francisco Cintron, Michael Gerber, Elizabeth Lewis, Tanner Ogle, and Steven Otterbacher.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *