April 28, 2016 at 2:01 pm

Classics & World Religions Celebrates Student Achievements

Ohio University Classics & World Religions faculty, students, and staff gathered at the department’s annual Awards Ceremony on April 21st to look back on the year’s highlights, honor graduating seniors, and recognize scholarship recipients.  The event was hosted by Emeritus Professor George Weckman in his beautiful home at 19 Park Place.

World Religions major Annie Chester receives this year’s Distinguished Professor Award from CLWR Chair, Prof. Bill Owens. She was designated the recipient by Distinguished Professor Tom Carpenter.

Students who received Department Scholarships:

  • Annie Chester received the Distinguished Professor Award, a scholarship that covers a full year’s tuition.
  • Sophia Mosley, Alayna Gould, Caleb Welch, Sage Foote, and Zach Reizes shared the D.J. Evans Memorial Scholarship for Classical Literature.
  • Jericha Tumblin and Francisco Cintron were given the Hugh H. Davis Classics Award.
  • Andrew Worth was selected as the recipient of the Ursula Feer Farfel Scholarship in Classics.
  • Jericha Tumblin was awarded the Paul R. and Alice N. Murphy Scholarship.
  • The Octa J. Kincade Latin Scholarship was given to Kelly Bilz.
  • Ashley Law and Theresa Fish shared the George Weckman World Religions Prize.
  • The Super Greek Prize was awarded to Jericha Tumblin and Elizabeth Adams.
  • Carmen Thorne received the McVay Phi Beta Kappa Humanities Award.


CLWR graduating seniors each received a share of the Harry Hultgren Book Award:

  • Daniel Aleksiejczyk
  • Grace Eberly
  • Thomas Fankhauser
  • Ashley Jordan
  • Brittany McAlpine
  • Matthew McDonald
  • Rachel Meyer
  • Henry Overholt
  • Caylin Pugh
  • Brandon Reed
  • Haley Shaw
  • Jessica Stewart

Graduating Senior Haley Shaw talks with Classics Professor Ruth Palmer.


CLWR Professor Emeritus George Weckman with students Carmen Thorne, Jericha Tumblin, Elizabeth Adams, and Daniel Aleksiejczyk.

In addition, the student members of Eta Sigma Phi bestowed honorary memberships on Classics Professor Jim Andrews and CLWR Administrative Associate Bryan Baur for their service to the organization.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *