April 28, 2019 at 3:09 pm

Elliott-Dorans Receives Provost Award for Excellence in Teaching

Dr. Lauren Elliott-Dorans, photo taken outside.

Dr. Lauren Elliott-Dorans

From Compass

Dr. Lauren Elliott-Dorans has been named the recipient of the Provost Award for Excellence in Teaching for 2019-22.

Elliott-Dorans is Assistant Lecturer of Political Science.

Two other awards for excellence in teaching and meritorious academic pursuits both inside and outside of the classroom were announced. Associate Professor of Finance Dr. Sinan Gokkaya and Associate Professor of English at OHIO Chillicothe Dr. Tony Vinci have been awarded the Presidential Teacher Award for 2019-2022.

The selections for both of these awards included a portfolio review, classroom visitations and personal interviews of the finalists and department chairs or school directors.

Award recipients will hold their title of Presidential Teacher or Provost Award for Excellence in Teaching for three years. In Fall 2019, a formal announcement and recognition ceremony with the award presentations for all finalists and winners will be held.

“Ohio University is extremely fortunate to have such outstanding faculty that enhance the overall academic quality of the University each and every day in their classrooms,” said OHIO Executive Vice President and Provost Dr. Chaden Djalali. “I’d like to thank the committees for their commitment and dedication to the selection process.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *