September 11, 2018 at 10:48 am

Roosenburg Serves as President of Herpetologist’s League

Willem Roosenburg, portrait, holding a tortoise

Dr. Willem Roosenburg

Dr. Willem M. Roosenburg, Professor of Biological Sciences at Ohio University, was elected the Vice President and President-elect of the Herpetologist’s League in June, and following the unexpected retirement of the standing president, Roosenburg assumed the role of president in early August.

The Herpetologists’ League is an international scientific society dedicated to research, conservation and education focused on reptiles and amphibians. The league publishes the quarterly journal, Herpetologica, and the annual journal Herpetological Monographs.

The society provides several prestigious awards including the Distinguished Herpetologist, the Distinguished Service to Herpetology Award, and the Ray Semlitsch Award for established herpetologists. Additionally, the league awards the E.E. Williams Research Grant, the Jones-Lovich Grant in Southwestern Herpetology, the Herpetologists’ League Graduate Research Award (to student members), along with several travel grants for students to attend the annual meeting.

The Herpetologists’ League meets annually at the Joint Meeting of Ichthyologists and Herpetologists.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *