December 9, 2017 at 4:38 pm

10 A&S Students Named Margaret Boyd Scholars

Exerpeted from Division of Student Affairs

Ohio University has announced the fifth cohort of Margaret Boyd Scholars, the University’s first and only women’s academic enrichment program. The newest 20 women bring the total number of scholars to 100 (including program graduates).

The Margaret Boyd Scholars Program, which began in 2013, aims to inspire and encourage women to become engaged, confident and connected leaders at OHIO and long after they graduate. The program is open to undergraduate female identifying women from all colleges and majors. Margaret Boyd was the first woman to graduate from Ohio University in 1873, pioneering women’s educational access. The scholars help to fulfill her legacy through their leadership at OHIO and beyond. Last spring marked a milestone for the leadership program with the graduation of the first cohort.

This year’s class consists of women from eight different colleges studying everything from history to interior architecture to chemical engineering.

Ten members of the 2017-18 cohort are from the College of Arts & Sciences:

  • Aleah Cumberbatch, Psychology
  • Jayda Martin, Psychology
  • Alli Mancz, English
  • Jordan Thompson, History
  • Abigail Gifford, Sociology-Criminology
  • Rhea Lanier, Biological Sciences
  • Hannah Martin, Women’s, Gender & Sexuality Studies
  • Julie Schneider, History
  • Charissa Tyas, Psychology
  • Leah Warren, Political Science

Warren, a new scholar studying political science said she wanted to become a scholar to strengthen her leadership skills. “I am excited for the other young leaders that I will meet and the opportunities I will have to encourage and promote women as leaders,” she said.

Warren, a New Zealand native, is one of three students coming from outside the United States.

Read the rest of the story.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *