September 17, 2016 at 2:12 pm

Govorov Named 2016 Ohio University Distinguished Professor

Dr. Alexander Govorov

Dr. Alexander Govorov

Dr. Alexander Govorov, has been named the 2016 Ohio University Distinguished Professor.

“Sasha is one of the most collaborative faculty members we have at Ohio University,” says Dr. David Ingram, Professor and Chair of Physics & Astronomy. “He works with both experimentalists and theorists from physics and other fields such as chemistry and engineering, as well as eminent scientists from around the world. He’s recognized here and abroad as an expert in optics, photonics, and advanced materials and energy studies. He’s also a gracious and conscientious colleague.”

Alexander “Sasha” Govorov joined Ohio University in 2002 as an associate professor. He is an esteemed physics professor and researcher, who is credited for starting the field of chiral plasmonics and plasmonic assemblies. He is considered to be an expert regarding the theory of optical properties of nanomaterials and nanostructures, and some of his more than 200 published works on the subject are highly-cited by academic peers

His research has appeared in top academic journals such as Nature and Physical Review Letters. Govorov has organized 16 national and international conferences since 2007.  He is frequently invited to participate in academic conferences. Between 2006 and 2016, he has been invited to give 80 talks regarding his research.

Govorov is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (2012) and a recipient of Bessel Research Award (A. v. Humboldt Foundation, Germany), Ikerbasque Research Fellowship (Spain), E.T.S. Walton Visitor Award (Ireland), 2013 Chang Jiang Chair Professorship of the Scholar Program of MOE of China, 2014 Jacques-Beaulieu Excellence Research Chair Award (INRS, Montreal), and 2015 Arts & Sciences Outstanding Faculty Research and Scholarship Award at Ohio University.  Govorov is a well-regarded professor and colleague who teaches and mentors both undergraduate and graduate students, and collaborates widely with his peers.

About the Award

The Distinguished Professor Award is the highest distinction for faculty members at Ohio University. Established in 1958 by Edwin and Ruth Kennedy as a designated component of the John C. Baker Fund, the award recognizes exceptional research and scholarly or artistic achievements. Since the award’s inception, it has been understood that recipients also must be conscientious teachers. Years later, President Charles J. Ping, commenting on the significance of the award, said, “Distinguished Professor awards have helped make it attractive for outstanding scholars who also are effective teachers to remain here for long tenures.”

The award was inaugurated in 1959 with the recognition of John F. Cady, Harvey C. Lehman, and Paul Murray Kendall. Gladys Balin-Stern became the first woman to receive the award in 1986. Since its inception, Distinguished Professors have been appointed from the colleges of Arts and Sciences, Business, Communication, Education, Engineering and Technology, Fine Arts, and Osteopathic Medicine.

Among the privileges granted to Distinguished Professors is the honor of annually naming an undergraduate student to receive a year’s full-tuition scholarship, lifetime designation title of Distinguished Professor, a continuing salary stipend, a one-quarter paid research leave, and travel support. Portraits of the Distinguished Professors are on display in the Distinguished Professor Gallery on the third floor of Alden Library outside of The Friends of the Library Room.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *