August 30, 2016 at 5:11 pm

Wyatt Named a 2016 Presidential Research Scholar

Dr. Sarah Wyatt

Dr. Sarah Wyatt

Dr. Sarah Wyatt, Professor of Environmental & Plant Biology, is one of five faculty members named the 2016 Ohio University Presidential Research Scholars for excellence in the areas of life and biomedical sciences and arts and humanities.

James Thomas, professor of physical therapy; Nancy Stevens, professor of biomedical sciences; Michele Fiala, associate professor of music; and Arthur Werger, professor of art and design, also received the award, which recognizes mid-career faculty members who have garnered national and international prominence in research, scholarship and creative activity. Each award recipient will receive $3,000 to be used at the scholar’s discretion as an honorarium or to support research or creative works.

The recipients will be honored at a ceremony to recognize Presidential Research Scholars and Presidential Teaching Scholars on Tuesday, Sept. 6.

The Research Division revived the program, which had been on hiatus since 2005, after faculty members—including The Council for Research, Scholarship and Creative Activity (CRSCA), a committee of Faculty Senate—requested that the university reinstate the recognition award.

“We are pleased to recognize the achievements and successes of our mid-career faculty who have made significant contributions to their fields,” said Joseph Shields, vice president for research and creative activity and dean of the Graduate College. “The award recipients provide outstanding examples of our faculty’s talent and commitment to creating knowledge and advancing culture.”

For 2016-17, applications were solicited in the areas of life and biomedical sciences and arts and humanities. Applications for social and behavioral sciences and physical sciences and engineering will be requested for 2017-18. The areas will rotate every other year.

Wyatt, Thomas and Stevens were selected as award recipients in the life and biomedical sciences category this year .

Wyatt is recognized as an expert in gravitational and space biology. Using cellular and molecular approaches, she examines how plants sense and respond to gravity. Wyatt has held positions on the executive committee and council of the American Society of Plant Biologists (ASPB), as well as on the governing board of the American Society for Gravitational and Space Research (ASGSR); she also served as a program director at the National Science Foundation. She has been a strong advocate for student research and outreach programming across campus.

Read more about the “Five OHIO faculty members named 2016 Presidential Research Scholars.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.