July 9, 2013 at 5:03 pm

Moore’s Flash Nonfiction Book Earns Two ForeWord Awards

The Rose Metal Press Field Guide to Writing Flash Nonfiction

The Rose Metal Press Field Guide to Writing Flash Nonfiction, a book edited last year by Professor Dinty W. Moore, was honored in two categories in the ForeWord Review’s 15th annual Book of the Year Awards announced June 28. Moore’s Flash Nonfiction book took Honorable Mention in the Anthologies and Writing adult nonfiction categories.

“ForeWord Reviews’ 15th annual Book of the Year Awards, judged by a select group of librarians and booksellers from around the country, were announced this evening at the American Library Association Annual Conference in Chicago. The winners exemplify the best work coming from today’s independent, university, and small press communities….Winners were selected by dozens of librarians and booksellers who are experts in the genres they judged, and who make purchasing decisions daily for their collections or bookstores,” according to the ForeWord announcement.

The Rose Metal Press Field Guide to Writing Flash Nonfiction features 26 eminent writers, editors, and teachers offering expert analysis, focused exercises, and helpful examples of what make the brief essay form such a perfect medium for experimentation, insight, and illumination. With a comprehensive introduction to the genre and book by editor Moore, this guide is perfect for both the classroom and the individual writer’s desk—an essential handbook for anyone interested in the scintillating and succinct flash nonfiction form. How many words does it take to tell a compelling true story? The answer might surprise you.

Moore, professor of English and Director of Creative Writing in the College of Arts & Sciences, is the author of the memoir Between Panic & Desire, winner of the 2009 Grub Street Book Award for Nonfiction, and numerous other books, essays and stories. The Creative Writing Program offers students a range of beginning, intermediate, and advanced workshops in poetry, fiction, and nonfiction.

ForeWord’s Book of the Year Awards program was created to highlight the year’s most distinguished books from independent publishers. Representing more than 700 publishers, the finalists were selected from 1,300 entries in 62 categories. These books are examples of independent publishing at its finest. Award winners are chosen by librarians and booksellers.

ForeWord Reviews, a quarterly print journal established in 1998, is dedicated to exclusively reviewing independently published books to provide booksellers, librarians, agents, and publishing professionals with reviews of the best titles from small, alternative, and academic presses.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *